Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, Im upgrading a computer, went to 1gig proc, new motherboard, ram, etc.. I put in a 60 gig HD and have a 8gig also. the 60 will have win2000 installed on it, the 8 has 2000 already installed, do I have to redo the 8 gig as win 95 or 98 in order to set it up as dual boot? and how do I set it up for dual boot, I cant remember .... please help!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
If you already have 98 on one of the drives its really easy....just boot to win98 then put the windows 2000 cd in....when it asks if you want a clean instal or just to upgrade...select clean install...this will give you the dual boot option when the machine starts
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hi, just so I know we are on the same page.. I dont have 98 on the 8 gig drive, it has 2000. if I put 98 on it, are you saying, then insert the 2000 and install?

I want to have 2 hard drives to boot from, 1- 2000 1- 98 or whatever.. will the clean install like you mentioned give me the choice to install it to another drive?

thanks for replying,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
yeah....on my machine i dual boot between 98 and 2K....but i only have one drive....i partitioned it to a C and a D....all of the 98 system files i put on the C drive, and all of the 2000 system files i put on the d drive.....so i dont see how it would be any different if you had 2 physical drives rather than a logical drive....i would put 98 on your box first...(just set it up like you normally would)....then when 98 is up, put the windows 2000 disk in, do a CLEAN INSTALL but when you are given the option, just change the path for the WINNT folder to the D drive....you should be good, i hope im not confusing you, its really a simple procedure...let me know if i have though
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top