Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm new here, so be gentle!:)

This problem is killing me, and I have no clue what to do about it?
First off, I'm on Windows ME, Pentium 3, 128 Meg of Ram, 1 GHz processor.

My problem:
I have Yahoo set to my homepage. I like to read the top news stories on the right hand side, and have been doing so for like a year. I click on the news link....say, "Wreckage of Peru plane found, No surviviors". Yahoo list about one paragraph, then a "more" link, to read the rest of the article. The "more" links will no longer work for me!!! I get a "Cannot Find Server/Page Cannot Be Dispalyed" error. This has been happening with every article for probably the past 2 weeks. Other people who share my ISP can open the just fine.......so, it's just me.

I don't recall doing anything that would cause this? Since Christmas, I have installed drivers/software for a digital camera, but other than that.......nothing?!

Any ideas????
 

· Registered
Joined
·
2,802 Posts
Hi jageorge72

If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

Download to any folder or your desktop
Unzip the zipfile
Double click the exe file
go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here

steam
 

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
StartupList report, 1/11/2003, 12:55:08 PM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\KEYBDMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONSCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMUSBKB2.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZONEALARM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH JUKEBOX\MMJB.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MUSICMATCH\MUSICMATCH JUKEBOX\MMDIAG.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Common Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
ZoneAlarm.lnk = C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zonealarm.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
AVG_CC = C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

*StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
Keyboard Manager = c:\Program Files\Netropa\One-touch Multimedia Keyboard\MMKeybd.exe
TrueVector = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 10/1/2003, 12:17:40)

[Rename]
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\URLMON.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET262.TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSHTML.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET271.TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SHDOCVW.DLL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SET274.TMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET ARRIS=C:\PROGRA~1\ARRIS2~1

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
REM
REM
mscdex.exe /d:IDECD000 /L:M

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\SBCIE026.DLL - {08351226-6472-43BD-8A40-D9221FF1C4CE}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

SBRegReminder.job
Tune-up Application Start.job
PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\SWFLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[sys Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

[AV Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PAV.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/antivirus/PCPAV.CAB

[{41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C}]
CODEBASE = http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...le.com/samantha/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe

[Live365Player Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PLAY365.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab

[SideStep IE Inst]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\SBCIE026.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.sidestep.com/get/k00719/sb026.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37589.7828356481

[PWMediaSendControl Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PWACTIVEXIMGCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://216.249.24.143/code/PWActiveXImgCtl.CAB

--------------------------------------------------
 

· Banned
Joined
·
4,900 Posts
Check your available resources by right-clicking My Computer; clicking Properties; Click the Performance tab. Resources available are displayed as percent there at top. Check it when you get done running the System Configuration Utility mentioned below.

Click the Start button; Run; type 'msconfig', without the quoatation marks, in the Run box and click OK; Then click the Startup tab; Uncheck anything you don't need running in the background. For reference on what's not needed running in the background in the System Configuration Utility, view this website first and print out the list:

http://www2.whidbey.net/djdenham/Running_items.htm

It's important that you print out the above mentioned list. The site provides a printer friendly link.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
10,514 Posts
You've got a spyware browser plugin:

SideStep

Download BHODemon, launch the program, and locate SBCIE026.DLL (it's the only one you have).

Highlight it, click 'details', and in "Select Status" click disabled

Click OK, and close the program.

Now go to Internet Options > Temp Internet Files > Setttings > Show objects, and find and remove the SideStep/SBCIE026.DLL ActiveX object.

As for your hyperlinks, first in Internet Options > Temp Internet Files hit "delete files".

Now go to IE tools/internet options/programs and turn on the check box for IE to check if it is the default browser. Shut down and restart IE. When it asks to be default browser, say yes.

This is absolutely vital if your hyperlinks are to work.

Also do the following:

Go to Start/Run, and type each line separately, followed by clicking OK:

regsvr32 Shdocvw.dll
regsvr32 Oleaut32.dll
regsvr32 Actxprxy.dll
regsvr32 Mshtml.dll
regsvr32 Urlmon.dll

After each time you click OK, you should get a dialog box notifying you that your dll has been registered successfully.

After registering all dlls, reboot, and see whether that has fixed the problem.

If no joy, take a look at the following article:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q177054 : Internet Shortcuts in Outlook Express Do Not Start Web Browser
 

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, did everything mentioned, and still no luck.

One thing I did notice after reading that article, it said about viewing files types, and what they open with...... I only have 1 URL listing, whereas they mentioned four.
URL:File Transfer Protocol
URL:Gopher Protocol
URL:Hypertext Transfer Protocol
URL:Hypertext Transfer protocol with Privacy

Either way, all other links seems to work for me, except the Yahoo "more" links for their news articles. Grrrr.....

Any other ideas?:)
 

· Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here's something VERY odd/interesting........

With the current articles on the Yahoo front page, the "more" buttons on the "Gov. Ryan commutes..." & "No Survivors found at Peru...." articles do NOT work.

The "more" buttons on the "Microsoft settles..." & "Sports Columnist Will McDunough..." articles DO work!
:confused:
 

· Registered
Joined
·
706 Posts
Instead of clicking the "more" text, try clicking the headline instead...it does the same thing, but may eliminate your problem.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top