Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am having trouble getting updates to post on an edit page. I believe the problem may be in the way the dropdown boxes are named and called, but I have not been able to figure out a way to do it better.

For y1 = 1 to 7

%>
[TD]">

<%

Set rsUCAbPD=Conn.Execute(" SELECT DISTINCT ZZAttdCode.AttdCodeAb FROM ZZAttdCode ORDER BY AttdCodeAb ASC ")

MArUCAbPD = rsUCAbPD.GetRows()

rsUCAbPD.Close
Set rsUCAbPD=Nothing

For x = 0 to Ubound(MArUCAbPD,2)
%> "><%Response.Write MArUCAbPD(0,x)%>
<%
Next
%> [/TD]
<%
tab = (tab + 1)
Next

I will attach the whole file, in case more code is needed. The code is quite long and parts of it are inefficient (particularly how the dates are added), but I am new to ASP. Can anyone see why the data is not being updated?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No error messages. The dropdown lists are populated correctly. But when the "submit" is pressed the values selected to be updated in the database go unchanged. Still no error message, but instead of getting the "Operation Completed" confirmation - the title of the page is the only thing that appears. I believe something in the way I did the For Loop when building the dropdown boxes (the name of the control) is not matching the way it is stored in the variables.

In the form:

NAME="UCodes"

Later when storing the value:

varU1 = Request.Form("UCodes")(1)

I am not sure how this part of the code works.

·
Registered
1,021 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm confused!! I thought that was used to choose the default choice for the dropdown.

If not, I am not sure what I need to name it. Somehow they need to be named UCodes1 - UCodes 42, but since a loop of 1-7 is used to build each week - I don't know how to accomplish this. Should the first week loop say:

For y1 = 1 to 7

And the second week loop say

For y1 = 8 to 14

And so on.

·