Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,871 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new computer is a custom-built with an Intel DQ35JO mobo with an E8400 Core 2 Duo CPU running at 3.0GHz. OS is Win XP-SP3. The mobo has something that's relatively new in computers: a TPM (Trusted Platform Module). By 2011, all computers purchased by the Dept. of Defense must have this module, so I assume many computers besides mine also have it.

For several years, I had been using SystemSuite Pro as my do-all utility (AV, AS, defrag, cleanup, diagnostics, firewall, etc.). Shortly after getting the new computer, I noticed that (a) the computer would not go into standby or hibernate at the times set for them, and (b) if I put it into standby or hibernate manually, when I brought it out, it would crash and reboot. A long diagnosis discovered that SystemSuite was causing the problem by trying (and failing) to access the TPM, despite the TPM being disabled in the BIOS. After removing SystemSuite, the computer's power options worked perfectly.

I now have almost the same problem again. The system doesn't crash when it comes out of standby or hibernation, but it often ignores the power options and stays on. If I manually put it into either, it often comes back on on its own.

My only scheduled tasks are for updates to Ad-aware and my Google software (Toolbar and Desktop). "Wake the computer to run this task" is UNchecked in all.

What do you think could be causing this behavior?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,871 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Have not had a single response to this thread, so am adding something I just discovered today which may help someone figure out what's happening. I wondered if the computer was being awakened by something coming from the Internet (I have Comcast cable, hardwired via the Ethernet port on the motherboard). So I tried something: I first manually put the computer into standby and immediately put my cable modem on standby as well (meaning that while the modem remains powered up, there is no connection to the Web). Guess what? Under that scenario, standby and hibernate hold; i.e., you put the computer into either, and it does NOT come back on.

So, it appears that some piece of software in my computer is constantly trying to connect to, or the computer is reacting to something coming from, the Web. I have looked at the HiJackThis log and for the life of me cannot see anything that should cause that. Here's the log:

Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 2:43pm, on 8/23/09
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18702)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware\AAWService.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\sched.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\Update\1.2.183.7\GoogleCrashHandler.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avgnt.exe
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware\AAWTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft IntelliPoint\ipoint.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft IntelliType Pro\itype.exe
C:\Program Files\Google\Google Desktop Search\GoogleDesktop.exe
C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboTaskBarIcon.exe
C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe
C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avguard.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\rundll32.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: RoboForm - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\roboform.dll
O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &RoboForm - {724d43a0-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\roboform.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [avgnt] "C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avgnt.exe" /min
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Ad-Watch] C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware\AAWTray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SBAutoUpdate] "C:\Program Files\SpywareBlaster\sbautoupdate.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IntelliPoint] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft IntelliPoint\ipoint.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [itype] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft IntelliType Pro\itype.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Google Desktop Search] "C:\Program Files\Google\Google Desktop Search\GoogleDesktop.exe" /startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SSBkgdUpdate] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Scansoft Shared\SSBkgdUpdate\SSBkgdupdate.exe" -Embedding -boot
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SUPERAntiSpyware] C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SUPERAntiSpyware.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [RoboForm] "C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboTaskBarIcon.exe"
O4 - Startup: Secunia PSI.lnk = C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: Customize Menu - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComCustomizeIEMenu.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Fill Forms - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: RoboForm Toolbar - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComShowToolbar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Save Forms - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
O9 - Extra button: Fill Forms - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F46} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Fill Forms - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F46} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
O9 - Extra button: Save - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F49} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Save Forms - {320AF880-6646-11D3-ABEE-C5DBF3571F49} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
O9 - Extra button: RoboForm - {724d43aa-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComShowToolbar.html
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: RoboForm Toolbar - {724d43aa-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComShowToolbar.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/windowsupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1246207098187
O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1246965741818
O16 - DPF: {7530BFB8-7293-4D34-9923-61A11451AFC5} (OnlineScanner Control) - http://download.eset.com/special/eos/OnlineScanner.cab
O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\PROGRA~1\Google\GOOGLE~2\GOEC62~1.DLL
O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
O23 - Service: Avira AntiVir Scheduler (AntiVirSchedulerService) - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\sched.exe
O23 - Service: Avira AntiVir Guard (AntiVirService) - Avira GmbH - C:\Program Files\Avira\AntiVir Desktop\avguard.exe
O23 - Service: Google Desktop Manager 5.8.809.23506 (GoogleDesktopManager-092308-165331) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Google Desktop Search\GoogleDesktop.exe
O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate) (gupdate) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
O23 - Service: Lavasoft Ad-Aware Service - Lavasoft - C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware\AAWService.exe

--
End of file - 6549 bytes

Let me add that I've done spyware scans with Ad-aware, SuperAntiSpyware, and Malwarebytes, and virus scans with Avira AntiVir, all absolutely up-to-date, and there is NO spyware, NO viruses on the computer.

I tried disabling the BIOS Boot option "Boot to Network" to "Disable", but when I do, my video misbehaves (gets jittery, sometimes goes black for 3-4 sec.), so had to re-enable it.

Any ideas what causing the computer to come back on by itself when the connection to the Web is left on?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,871 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am marking this thread as solved. I did a Google search on computer wake-up and found an article that gave me a clue as to what might be causing the problem. Under Device Manager, Network Adapter, Properties, there is a Power Management tab. Under that tab, there are 3 checkboxes for Wake on (a) Direct Packet, (b) Magic Packet, and (c) Magic Packet from power off state. I don't know how or why, but ALL 3 WERE CHECKED!!! I unchecked them, thus preventing ANY received packet from waking the computer. It worked! The computer no longer wakes up after I put it into standby or hibernate, and will now go into those states automatically according to my power option settings.

Problem solved! I have a very high regard for the knowledge of the TSG community and am therefore surprised that nobody knew about these settings. I hope this thread will provide answers to others who encounter the same problem.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top