Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My PC nightmare is my computer does not boot normally. It stays with the with the windows logo stuck(the flag).When it does give me my pc icons it runs really slow and I touch the mouse once or twice and it freezes. Anyway,What i would like to know (if anybodywould be nice to help me out) is should i reformatt my harddrive and what is the best software(easiest also) to use. I am a beginner, but I would like to learn. My PC does not allow me access to the internet. I ran Nortons antivirus but was unable to finish for some reason, I had to unplug the PC to restart it. MY PC Nightmare has begun.... Can anybody help?

If you think i should try some Run options let me know, I will try them.

I am looking for the easiest way out of this so i can use my desktop.

Thank You,
BrooklynJoe.
windows XP Ser.PK 1
E machine T2460
AMD2400+ 2 GHZ
60GB
768MB RAM(1 factory stick-256,1512 crucial Pc2100)
(266Mhz)

·
Registered
2,382 Posts
If this is a new or newer install and you dont mind formatting, then that is my suggestion. If you have access to the internet and a cd burner then you should first download and burn a copy of service pack 2 onto it so you can apply this update, you will need the full net install version: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...BE-3B8E-4F30-8245-9E368D3CDB5A&displaylang=en copy this to a cdrom so you can apply after the re-install.

You will also need your XP disk, you dont need to use third party format or disk utilities, the OS disk can do this for you.