Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help! This is driving me crazy! I have Hughesnet internet which in itself is probably 1/2 the problem, but I use to be able to get my second computer on the same time as the #1 computer, other than I could not use messenger to talk to my friends. Now, though, I cannot get on at all, when the #1 computer is on! The wireless connection does not show up at all and when I try to connect manually, it also will not show up at all. When I go into my network sharing it is there, but I cannot get to it. I hope you can understand this problem because it is hard to explain and so confusing. Please someone help me! This has my brain buzzing! The router is a Linsky.
:p
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
Please bring your signature into compliance (3 line max.).

Are you sure the router is not a Linksys? What is the model?

Please try to connect the second computer by ethernet and wireless and show for both computers (if they are running Windows) ...

Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following command:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Terry. I took off my sig. Now about the Linksys WRT54g2V1, I cannot do what you say, sorry. The only problem I have is when computer #1 is online. I do not have the tools needed to carry out your instructions. This is a mystery to me since the connection completely disapears when the computer #1 is on, but comes back when that computer shuts down.
Thanks for your reply.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
Then connect by wireless only and post the requested information. :) With networking issues we often want to determine if we have a wireless only or a more general networking problem. That is only one of the reasons you oughta pick up an ethernet cable or two when you have a chance.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
I want to see how things look when you are trying to use both PCs online at the same time. I don't know what that will show, but we have to start somewhere.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Toshiba>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Toshiba-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 5100
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-5D-7F-B4-7A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::eddd:c941:864c:1402%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 4:00:58 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 13, 2011 4:00:58 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 301998429
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-F7-EF-49-00-1E-33-6B-1D-82

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.142.168.10
67.142.168.11
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-6B-1D-82
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c36:3e91:3f57:fe9a(Pref
erred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c36:3e91:3f57:fe9a%12(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Users\Toshiba>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
There you go. I don't have a clue what you are looking at, but like I told you I had to get this on manually because the network does not show when the #1 computer is on.
Does this tell you anything?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
It shows an apparently good IP configuration for a wireless connection to a router. Unfortunately I am still clueless about what you mean by "the network does not show." What do you mean by that?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Ok, see when the main computer is online, and I go to put my laptop on, there is not any network showing for me to connect to, nothing at all. I can go into my network on my control panel and see the network, but cannot connect to it at all. I can try to connet to it manually from the laptop (computer #2) but cannot connect. I have to go to the main computer and open up the basic page of the router and maually put it on that way. Now when the main computer is shut down, the laptop sees the network and connects easily. My problem is connecting normally when the main computer is on. Would it help to do that config when the laptop is not on and cannot see a network?
Thank you again, btw. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Hi Terry. I think I am going to keep on doing like I am doing. The other computer doesnt belong to me and I'd hate to put their information on the net too. I'm going to mark this as solved, and I thank you again so much.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
43,946 Posts
I think the wordage is what's confusing here. I assume you mean you cannot see the wireless network that you would connect to gain internet access.

Since this is a laptop, I would look at finding a switch that would usually be on the right side. Make sure it's set to on. This is the #1 cause of not seeing any wireless networks.

If it's a HP, the button will be above the keyboard. It would be Red, Yellow, or Blue. Red indicated off, blue indicates a connection to a wireless network. If it's red, press the button and look for the network again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Hi Couriant! Thanks for the help. No, I know the switch you are meaning and it is on. The computer sees the network and automatically connects to it, when the #1 computer is off. The problem is when the #1 computer is online, then the wireless network doesnt show up. My computer says there is not any network around! But anyway, I can manually get it on so I will continue to do it this way. Thank you for your help. :)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
Before your most recent post I was mis-understanding the problem or maybe my mind was just refusing to accept such an unusual issue. Now that I think I understand better, it does seem to be a router malfunction or else your ISP has some way of shutting off the router's Wi-Fi when ethernet is being used.

I know you want to drop the issue and you have every right to do so, but I'm having trouble letting go of such an unusual problem. If you're up to it ...

1. When computer #1 is online, how "off" do you have to go before the wireless shows up?
a. Just disable the ethernet connection on computer #1?
b. Physically disconnect the ethernet cable?
c. Shut down computer # 1?
d. Unplug computer # 1?

2. If you have a wireless connection with your laptop and then connect computer # 1 do you lose the wireless network at that time?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,821 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Good morning Terry. I am sure it is my explanation that is mixing people us. Just shutting down computer 1 will let the wireless network show on the laptop. It takes a bit though, not right away, like 15 min or so... but since I put the router on manual it has be ok, so that's why I say it is solved, becasue as long as I can get on I'm happy! :) I blame my ISP because from the day the man came to install it he could not get the laptop on, and after a while his co workers on the other side of the phone, that were instructing him said the main computer is on, you are done there, so he left. I went on to contacting the router people which helped me since it was new then, but it has never been right. Case of one blaming the other, the router people say it is the ISP, the ISP says it is the router problem!
It is an unusual problem. Thank you for helping me. :)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
Are you saying with the router "manual" setting (which is something else I don't understand) you can now use both computers at the same time? If so, I agree--problem solved. :) Hit the Solved button at the upper left of the page.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top