Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
when my system is doing initialization, i get the message below:
Activing swap partition: swapon /dev/hda8: invalid argument...[FAILED]

so i use 'fdisk' to check the partition table:
[[email protected] root]# /sbin/fdisk /dev/hda
...
command(m for help): v
warning: partition 3 overlaps partition 8
logical partition 8 not entirely in partition 2
372 unallocated sectors

command(m for help): p
Disk /dev/hda: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 2491 cyliders
Units=cylinders of 16065*512 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 638 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda2 639 2016 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda3 2017 2491 83 Linux
/dev/hda5 639 1148 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda6 1149 1658 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda7 1659 1977 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda8 1978 2017 82 Linux swap
~~~~
i can clearly see that logical partition hda8(1978-2017) is out of the bound of extended partition hda2(639-2016).
and this is most likely caused by Partition Magic...i used it a short while ago.
now the question is:
how to fix the error so that the swap partition is available?
thanks in advance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
what distro are you using?...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,964 Posts
Can you boot without swap? Actually, can you boot windows at all. If you can, be sure to check out that drive (D:? or hda2). Partition magic may have made a mistake. Best bet would be to (after you ensure your data is safe) delete the swap partition, leaving free space, and create swap from linux, using the linux fdisk. (or cfdisk)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
Whiteskin...i am so happy to have you as participant in this forum....your information and ideas are priceless........:):):)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,240 Posts
*steals whiteskin's knowledge of linux, and replaces him with a pod person* ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
to add to Whiteskins post, it also could be either the swapon command being given has an invalid argument, or the swap entry in the /etc/fstab file is not correct..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Whiteskin said:
Can you boot without swap? Actually, can you boot windows at all. If you can, be sure to check out that drive (D:? or hda2). Partition magic may have made a mistake. Best bet would be to (after you ensure your data is safe) delete the swap partition, leaving free space, and create swap from linux, using the linux fdisk. (or cfdisk)
:) i have followed this advice and the partition table is fine now.
THANK you all who participate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
735 Posts
oh sure, give whiteskin all the credit because he had the correct answer.. :p

:D
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top