Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, Am running Windows XP (Service Pack 3) Have 512 MB of RAM - 2.69GHz - Intel - I am self taught on the PC and my system is running very slow. I am not so good on the PC (Computer Illiterate/Beginner) Have loads of tat on my PC please can you help :confused:

·
Registered
1,480 Posts
Well better to have a gig at least now days but what does "loads of Tat" mean? Doing some scans etc to clean it up would be helpfull also,

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sorry, loads of tat means loads of useless information that is clogging up my system. Programmes that are not needed. I didnt mean to rush you. I am slow so you will have to bear with me. Thanks

·
Registered
144 Posts
Hello and welcome.

First lets try this:

Click start/all programs/Accessories/System tools/disk cleanup and check all boxes.

Open IE and click tools/internet options/delete history,cookies and temp files.

Open "My Computer" and right click on your hard drive and choose properties,how much free space do you have left on your hard drive?

Uninstall programs you no longer use.

Delete old files,backup data to external hard drive,CD/DVDs etc to free up space.

Let me know how that goes?
JB.

·
Registered
7,091 Posts
Post a HijackThis log. It will show what's running on your PC and then we can tell what to get rid of.

Go to this site http://www.trendsecure.com/portal/en-US/threat_analytics/hijackthis.php?page=download.

Click on 'Download HijackThis Installer'.

*Save HJTInstall.exe to your desktop, or to the location where you normally download.
*Double-click on HJTInstall.exe.
*Click on Install.
*By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis.
*Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
*Click on the 'Do a system scan and save a logfile button'. It will scan and the log will open in Notepad.