Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have set up table in Excel where employees are listed down the side, and SOP's are listed across the top, and I enter a 1 in every cross referenced square to indicate they have been trained on each SOP. What I would like is to have a sheet that reads this data and then allows me to sort by name what SOP's each employee has been trained on, AND be able to alternately sort by SOP and be given a list of employees trained. In addition, I would like a way to be told what SOP's each employee REMAINS to be trained on.

I understand the IF function but don't know how to do like a mass check instead of a single cell check.

Any help is greatly appreciated. In addition, if you feel I could better be served using Access, feel free to explain how I might go about that...I've never used Access before.

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
Hi,

How many SOP's do you have, and how many names do you have? You should be able to use Excel's native sort function from what it sounds like. You can attach a sample file to the board also (Manage Attachments button when posting/replying).

·
Registered
98 Posts
Seems pretty simple. You could do Access, but that's much more complicated to build.
I did a samle with 20 employees and 10 SOP's accross the top. With the columns pretty narrow, this fits nicely on a page. I did a conditional format of the cells so that they would turn a bright color with an outline border when you enter "1" in the cell. Then I made a total column at the right to count the cells with data [=COUNT(B2:K2)]and another column to count the blank cells [=COUNTBLANK(B2:K2)]. This will give you a count of SOP's taken, and SOP's remaining. You can easily sort, or just visually see which are needed for each employee.