Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been working on my friends pc that runs ME with a PIII. I've finally rid it of a virus via the help from the good folks at this site.

A new concern or actually two has come up.

One is that whenever I try to open Windows Explorer from the start>programs menu what opens is actually My Documents. How do I change this?

The next thing is is that I can't get a standard drop down menu bar on any of the files I open or view. How is this done in ME? I'm used to W98se so perhaps it's somewhat different.

Please help as my friend has seemed to really have messed this pc up.

Thanks and God bless,
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
For the Explorer problem, try this:

Go to the Start Menu > Programs shortcut for Windows Explorer and right click on it and select Properties.

You will see a "Target" entry there. Change it to read:

c:\windows\explorer.exe\ /n,/e,C:\

You can also do this by Right Clicking on the Desktop and selecting New > Shortcut, and using that as the target line, it can then be moved to the quicklaunch for easy access.

I'm not sure what to make of the other issue, are you referring to the File Tree when you click "open" in File?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, there is no drop down menus as in...

File Edit View Go Favorites Help

In any file I open I can't navigate via the drop down menus. I can't right click on the menu bar either as it gives me nothing when I do.

Thanks,
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hi Rollin'

This.... c:\windows\explorer.exe\ /n,/e,C:\ didn't work. Got a window that said it wasn't a valid path and to make sure the file name and path are correct.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
Does the menu bar show up in any Explorer folders? How about Internet Explorer? What happens if you tap the f11 key a few times?

Tony covered a few possiblities here, of which the f11 key seemed to work:

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?postid=655200#post655200

Also, run regedit and look in:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer

What restrictions are listed there?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
No it doesn't show up in any folders including Internet Explorer.

As far as the registry, well, ya lost me on that. That's one thing I try to stay away from as I'm not very well equipped to handle it without close supervision, if ya know what I mean.

Since my neighbors are moving I asked them to pack up their pc and let me have it for a few days while I (and you nice folks) attempt to work the bugs out. It is now in transit over here.

So, the four things I've noticed off the bat are...
1. No menu bar.
2. Unable to open Windows Explorer.
3. Scandisk is inoperable (it trys to restart and errors out after 10 attempts saying that something is running in the backgroud. The only things running are systray and explorer).
4. Opening Word displays EBPMON.dll error.

Those are the things I've found so far. I'm sure there are more I've not discovered yet.

I will try some more of the things you've suggested and post back.

Thanks Rollin', I mean THANKS!
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
Don't worry about using regedit, it's just another file tree unless you start deleting things you shouldn't. For now I just want you to look there and see what you find in the Right Hand pane.

Also, be sure to run msconfig again and re-enable ALL startups. Then give us a post of the startups using the StartupList application from the site below. Just unzip, run it and copy/paste the results to a reply.

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

>> what happens when you try to open Windows Explorer? You said before it was opening to My Documents? Did you change the target of the shortcut and lose it?

Do a File Search for Explorer.exe, it should be in C:\windows. When it is found, right click on it and select Send To Desktop as Shortcut. Does the desktop shortcut open?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Gotcha Rollin':
I'll do everything you suggested and post back.

Thanks,
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Ok, here's what's going on.

When I go into regedit and go to...
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer I get two values...
one being (default) (value not set) and the other being NoDriveType 95 00 00 00 which doesn't sound right.

When I try to open Explorer.exe I get My Documents. I sent a copy of it to the Desktop and the same thing happened. The pathway is set to open My Documents. I'm not quite sure how to change that.

Here also is the complete listing of programs running at startup...

StartupList report, 1/14/2003, 3:49:24 PM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SSDPSRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LXSUPMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\WORKS SHARED\WKCALREM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE
MICROSOFT WORKS CALENDAR REMINDERS.LNK = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
MICROSOFT OFFICE.LNK = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
New Adobe PhotoDeluxe Image.pdd
New Microsoft Word Document.doc

User shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE
MICROSOFT WORKS CALENDAR REMINDERS.LNK = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Works Shared\wkcalrem.exe
MICROSOFT OFFICE.LNK = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
New Adobe PhotoDeluxe Image.pdd
New Microsoft Word Document.doc

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
LoadQM = loadqm.exe
ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
PCHealth = C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
WorksFUD = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msconfig.exe /reminder
Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
LexStart = Lexstart.exe
LexmarkPrinTray = PrinTray.exe
MotiveMonitor = C:\Program Files\Motive\motmon.exe
internat.exe = internat.exe
TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
LXSUPMON = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LXSUPMON.EXE RUN
Microsoft Works Portfolio = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

*StateMgr = C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
SSDPSRV = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ssdpsrv.exe
SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
StillImageMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

MSMSGS = C:\PROGRA~1\MESSEN~1\msmsgs.exe /background
Microsoft Works Update Detection = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
MoneyAgent = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Express.exe"

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[^RNA] *
StubPath = rundll rnasetup.dll,installoptionalcomponent rna

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 12/1/2003, 16:58:58)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\VCCLEA~1.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\PhotoDeluxe 2.0\AdobeConnectables
SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;"C:\Program Files\Dell\Resolution Assistant\Common\bin"
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

@C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
REM
REM
LH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~8\MOUSE\MOUSE.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[{2C38A62E-D257-40E8-8BB7-5624E38FEB0A}]
CODEBASE = http://62.52.93.252/bigbozo8912/access.cab

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.com/download/newdial-erp/2936/dialer.exe

[MSN Money Charting]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\INV12.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/investor/v12/invinstl.exe

[ActiveScan Installer Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as/asinst.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 8,252 bytes
Report generated in 0.413 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only

I'm not quite sure on why all this is even in here. For example, why is there an entry to start Word at Startup. How can we get rid of unecessary entries?

Thankyou so much,

Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
I don't know why the Word and pdf entries are there either. Did you see msconfig entries for them? (I would suspect not). There may still be some unchecked items as I see this remains as well:

MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msconfig.exe /reminder

Other than that there is nothing unusual about the startups except for that I'm saving for last.

You can review most on a case by case basis using the info here:

http://www.lafn.org/webconnect/mentor/startup/PENINDEX.HTM

As for Explorer opening up in My Documents, Right Click on the one now on the Desktop, select Properties, and change the target to:

c:\windows\explorer.exe\ /n,/e,C:\

It should open on the c:\ directory then.

To keep the Word and PDF documents from opening, they would have to simply be deleted or removed from the Startup folder:

[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]

And finally, the lack of any other registry restriction at that location seems to rule out a restriction as the cause of the menu bar problem. Have you gone through the advice given by Tony in the thread I linked to?

The Downloaded Programs folder contains a couple of entries that should be removed. Go to Internet Options>Settings>View objects and in that folder, right click on and Remove these two entries:

[{2C38A62E-D257-40E8-8BB7-5624E38FEB0A}]
CODEBASE = http://62.52.93.252/bigbozo8912/access.cab

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.co...2936/dialer.exe
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Yes I did see msconfig entries for Word.

I entered the path for Explorer in the target area and recieved this message .... specified in target box is not valid. Any other ideas on this one?

I can't do what Tony suggests as NONE of the files have a menu bar. I also can't get into Windows Explorer as he suggests but I viewed some of the files (a lot) and none had a menu bar.

I got rid of the entries in the Downloaded Programs.

I sure appreciate your help.

Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
I think I inadvertantly put a back slash in there, but it really shouldn't make a difference, try it like this:

C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE /n,/e,C:\

As long as the original target was c:\windows\explorer.exe there should be nothing wrong with the path.

make sure you have that colon :)) after c or you will get messages like that when trying to save the change.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Whew, got that Explorer path taken care of.
The only problem is is that ya know how there is supposed to be two columns in Explorer. Well, there are two but the one on the left is BLANK!! And the menu bar is missing. The two are somehow connected.

On the bright side we're down to only this one (or two) issues (I think).

Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
Well, we do have a fix for that, but it will not work on IE 5.5, which is what I see installed. However if you/he is willing to update to IE 6 we can run it, if updating alone doesn't correct it.

However, try running the IE Repair Tool in Add/Remove programs > Internet Explorer > Remove> Repair first. Might just do it.

This is the "fix" I'm referring to:

http://forums.techguy.org/t59067/s.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
I forgot to mention that scandisk is inoperable also. It restarts 10 times before erroring out. It says something is running in the background but I can shut everything down using Ctl+Alt+Del and it still will do it.

Also, on boot, I get one of two errors. spool32 caused error in EBPMON.DLL or in Kernel32.dll

The repair IE5.5 didn't work. I'm gonna have to upgrade to 6 but IE6 is really buggy or so I hear. Then I'll do the registry thing.

So, I guess I have 3 more issues to deal with.

I'll post back tomorrow with the results.

Thanks again Rollin'!
Take care, God bless and hope to hear from ya tomorrow.
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
EBPMON.DLL is an epson printer driver; it looks like you have entries both for Lexmark and Epson; doesn't sound like a good combo to me. I'd go with just one or the other. If you stick with Epson, and still get the error, I would remove and reinstall it, looking to see if there is an update for the drivers before reinstalling.

If this is just an "orphan" entry, you may only need to delete it from that folder (C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP)

EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE

Many have trouble with ScanDisk and Defrag. If end tasking everything but Explorer and System Tray doesn't allow them to run without doing that, then the standard advice is to try Safe Mode.

I'm not sure but I believe some older versions of Intellimouse can cause the problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Hey Rollin':
Did the power go out at this site or what?

Anyhow, one problem lead to another so I decided to reinstall Me. There were so many problems popping up it wasn't funny. I'm in the process now. Any ideas?

Thanks so much for your time and effort. I so much appreciate folks that are willing to help others. By the way, so does God.

Thanks, I'll post back with the results...one way or the other.
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
The site has been having problems due to some outages on the web routers that support the site. It seems to be getting back to normal.

A reinstall is probably a good idea, though I'm not sure it always corrects the kind of "Explorer" problem you've described. But experience with it varies, so it will be interesting to see what happens.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Everything went well. I got back the menu bar and Explorer looks good.

The one thing I can't get rid of is the spool32 error @ ebpmon.dll. the software was uninstalled and I can't delete the dll file because it says it's in use.

How can I get rid of this error? It always happens on startup.

Peter
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top