Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a Compaq and I used the COMPAQ System Recovery tool (NOT system restore or windows recovery tool) after I couldn't boot windows because I was missing some DLL file.

I knew that system restore would delete all my files but I thought the recovery tool would not do so. After running the compaq system recovery tool I boot up my computer to see that everything has been deleted (well sort of).

My computer is back to factory settings...but my C drive still only has about 10 gB/100 left in it which is the same it did before the recovery. I have a feeling that the files are still on my computer but I cannot access them.

When I go to Documents and Settings I see two folders.

1) Compaq_Owner
2) Compaq_Owner.PERRY

Perry being the new account that I created when I used the recovery tool. When I try to access Compaq_Owner a message pops up and says:

C:\Documents and Settings\Compaq_Owner is not acessible.

Access is denied.

I have a feeling that my old files are stored somewhere in this folder, or somewhere else in my computer. Is there anyway to access these files or should I give up and reformat my computer?
 

·
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
·
17,735 Posts
Hi,

Probably you did the NON-destructive Recovery, that is supposed to not touch your Documents....

A Full System Recovery would have formatted and reinstalled to factory settings....

You should be able to recover access to your old profile documents this way:

http://www.winxptutor.com/ownership.htm

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/308421

You will have to do the permissions fixing for the folders, and also all files that you still cannot open, read, access, etc.
 

·
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
·
17,735 Posts
DH- It seems the poster, had it just reversed, they posted this:

I knew that system restore would delete all my files but I thought the recovery tool would not do so. After running the compaq system recovery tool I boot up my computer to see that everything has been deleted (well sort of).
They just had it reversed...

Probably they realize the wording error now, after having done the Recovery.... these two things, System Restore and System Recovery, are mixed up very very often, so thanks for posting that Restore does not affect user documents, files, etc.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top