Tech Support Guy banner
  • IMPORTANT: Only authorized members may reply to threads in this forum due to the complexity of the malware removal process. Authorized members include Malware Specialists and Trainees, Administrators, Moderators, and Trusted Advisors. Regular members are not permitted to reply, and any such posts will be deleted without notice or further explanation. Notice
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My neighbor's pc may have a virus. He's been online without antivirus and now I am trying to download Panda antivirus. As I get to the end of the download it gives me a window that says the download couldn't be completed so I had to start all over again. Same thing happened. Isn't this a characteristic of a virus...not being able to run a scan?

He has a Dell with Windows ME PIII.

How can I identify the virus or even the presence of one if I can't scan his system?
Thanks for the help,
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,773 Posts
HI alamal - do this on his machine

If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

Please go here and download startuplist 1.5 :-

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist15.zip

Download to any folder or your desktop
Unzip the zipfile
Double click the exe file
go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here

steam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Here what he's running Steam and hey, thanks!!!

StartupList report, 1/13/2003, 11:17:19 AM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
Detected: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINKHWN.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSNDELL\MSNCOREFILES\MSN6.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\TD_0001.DIR\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE

User shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\STARTUP]
EPSON BACKGROUND MONITOR.LNK = C:\ESM2\STMS.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Winkhwn = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Winkhwn.exe
MSConfigReminder = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\msconfig.exe /reminder

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

MSMSGS = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MESSENGER\MSMSGS.EXE" /background

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4395}] *
StubPath = regsvr32.exe /s /n /i:U shell32.dll

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:OE /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = "C:\PROGRA~1\OUTLOO~1\setup50.exe" /APP:WAB /CALLER:IE50 /user /install

[^RNA] *
StubPath = rundll rnasetup.dll,installoptionalcomponent rna

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ie4uinit.exe

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 12/1/2003, 16:58:58)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\VCCLEA~1.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

SET CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\PhotoDeluxe 2.0\AdobeConnectables
SET windir=C:\WINDOWS
SET winbootdir=C:\WINDOWS
SET COMSPEC=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND.COM
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;"C:\Program Files\Dell\Resolution Assistant\Common\bin"
SET PROMPT=$p$g
SET TEMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP
SET TMP=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

@C:\WINDOWS\tmpcpyis.bat

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
REM
REM
LH C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~8\MOUSE\MOUSE.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
PCHealth Scheduler for Data Collection.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[{2C38A62E-D257-40E8-8BB7-5624E38FEB0A}]
CODEBASE = http://62.52.93.252/bigbozo8912/access.cab

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = http://usa-download.nocreditcard.com/download/newdial-erp/2936/dialer.exe

[MSN Money Charting]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\INV12.OCX
CODEBASE = http://fdl.msn.com/public/investor/v12/invinstl.exe

[ActiveScan Installer Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as/asinst.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 6,506 bytes
Report generated in 1.301 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,773 Posts
Hi alamal

It's the KLEZ virus - hang around while I or someone else finds the removal tool for you

Once you have got rid of the virus you will need to run spybot - I see other problems in your startup

steam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
45,855 Posts
Except for your Klez infection:

Winkhwn = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Winkhwn.exe

... it looks like a pretty clean startup, of couse we don't know what is Unchecked in msconfig; so when you get Klez removed, you should re-enable what is there and post another startuplog.

Here is a removal tool from Symantec; it is supposed to detect and remove most versions. It MUST be run in Safe Mode. Be sure to follow the instructions appropriate for WinME. System Restore must be disabled before running.

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.klez.removal.tool.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,773 Posts
This is what I meant by other problem

You need to get rid of this

[{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
CODEBASE = h**p://usa-download.nocreditcard.co...2936/dialer.exe
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ok guys, I'm gonna start with removing Klez. The rest of the stuff in the registry is probably beyond me so if I may ask for your assistance I'd surely appreciate it.

Here goes!

Thanks and I'll post back.
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Ok, I ran the Klez tool unsuccessfully. It said my System Restore was enabled. But it's not. Then it said it isn't. In the beginning of the tool run it'll say it's not disabled then at the end it says it was unsuccessfull because it WAS enabled. Arrrggggggggggg!!!

I did everything I was supposed to to disable it.

Please help.
Thanks,
Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I was finally able to rid the virus using the tool.

Now, Steam mentioned getting rid of the CODEBASE.

How do I do this? What other things do I need to correct or fix in order to get this pc back up to snuff?

I want to thank you guys for all the help you've provided thus far.

God bless,

Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Ok, is that all there is to it? I am finished with everything?

I just want to say again how grateful I am for helping me out today and in the past.

You folks really are great and provide a fantastic service to those who can't otherwise afford to take their pc in for service.

Take care and may God bless all those who help others!

Peter
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
834 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Ok, Rollin'. I'll post back tomorrow with the results.

One funny thing though. I can't reenable System Restore. In fact, it was always disabled. Every time I went to enable it I found that the disable button was always checked after a restart.

Peter
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top