Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have Windows Vista. I just bought a new NetGear router. My computer is Toshilba Satelite. My computer worked great on the old lYNKSYS router. Everyone in the family is connecting wirelessly to the new router. My computer says I am connected down in the right hand corner, but it will not connect to my internet explorer without being plugged into the router? Help, desperate!
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
moved to networking forum

can we see the following information ipconfig /all and ping tests - see below, when connected to the wireless

also try tcp/ip reset

------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the

results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the

internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the

results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the

internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above

ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.

If you receive the message
The requested operation requires elevation.
The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

Post back the results here
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Min
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-A2-D8-47
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ad4f:5ba:eb72:d6ae%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 11, 2011 7:04:28 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 7:04:28 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 318775265
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-D9-EA-47-00-1E-EC-39-D8-0D
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8101E Family PCI-E Fast Ethern
et NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-EC-39-D8-0D
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b0a5:490d:34bd:141%10(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 09, 2011 12:10:39 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 7:03:55 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 268443372
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0F-D9-EA-47-00-1E-EC-39-D8-0D
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.gateway.innflux.com
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{4259014E-0570-45C4-A5A5-F9ECBE5A5
E7C}
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
C:\Users\Rach>
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
we are seeing this type of issue with the Atheros AR5007EG when using security
Log into the router and take off the wireless security and see if it now connects

often by updating the driver it can resolve the issue
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
you can goto device manager and right click on the adapter and then choose update and allow windows to use winodws update
OR
you can goto the pc manufacturers support website and using your exact model (or if dell TAG number) download the driver from there

did it connect and work ok with no security ?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
82,234 Posts
I suggest trying both ways (if the first way doesn't work) etaf suggested for a driver update. Each way has apparently worked for at least one user.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
if you still cant find - post the Exact Model Number and we can try and post a direct link (if possible) to the driver
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
exact model of your PC, should be on the PC somewhere
this may also help

Model:

* Go to Start > Accessories > Command Prompt
* Type, wmic computersystem get model
* Press Enter
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
Okay, it is downloaded, now what do I do? Unplug from the Netgear router and? I'm sorry I'm so inept. I am really trying to learn and be more confident on the computer.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
you should be able to double click on the download file driver_wifi_atheros_27310B.exe and it will install automatically
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
I did install it. So, I unplugged and it still says I'm connected, but it doesn't actually work? WHen I launch my internet explorer it won't connect. WHen I hit diagnose it says that there is still a problem, but it doesn't tell me what it is...
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
1) Did you try to remove the wireless security from the router and see if you can connect ok like that
2) can we see the results of doing the ping tests i posted
3) what firewall do you have on the PC or have you ever had on the PC
 
1 - 20 of 68 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top