Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a couple of million .html files to change, so I need a batch way of doing them all at once. They change seems simple but it is turning out to be very difficult to actually get done right. Here is the situation. The files currently have this content:

123 Product XYZ

What I want is to end up with this content:

123 Product XYZ

Can't figure out any way to do it. Please note that although I've been around computers since they were hacked from granite, I am not a programmer so I'm stuck. Any assistance would be appreciated! Happy holidays! :)

·
Super Moderator
79,313 Posts
let me know if you don't get a response in the next 24 hours or so........if not, I'll flag down one of our resident coders. I'm also going to move this to business apps.

thanks,

v

·
Registered
9,026 Posts
In the html files you want to read the product name from the title tags, and add it to the end of the description line?

Take the part in red and add it as shown:
123 Product XYZ

123 Product XYZ

Are these two lines always one right after the other, or could there be intervening lines?
Is there a following line that will always be present?
Can you zip up and attach one or two of the files, assuming it won't violate any privacy concerns?

To attach a file:
  • If using Quick Reply, click the Go Advanced button under the Reply box..
  • Click the Paperclip
    at the top of the editor window, or scroll down and click the Manage Attachments button in the Additional Options section (may have to expand it).
  • Click the Browse... button and browse to your file
  • Click the Upload button
  • Repeat for any more files, then close the Manage Attachments window

·
Super Moderator
79,313 Posts