Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
619 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

I have some files that I wanted to share with my laptop and everything was working fine. I, stupidly, changed the computer name and now it has duplicated all the files - it shows one set in one computer name and one set in another. How do I clean this up? I want to delete the programs that are not able to be used. I was afraid to use 'delete' in case it deleted the actual files. I'm not sure if I've explained this properly! I'll retry if it's not clear.

How does one get rid of files in "My Network Places" ?

Thanks!!!

Vivienne
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
The "files" in My Network Places are just shortcuts. Just delete the ones you don't want to appear.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,468 Posts
In addition, by default, when you go to Network Places, it will scan and show shortcuts to previous network shares. To turn this off and remove any current shortcuts

Open up the Windows Explorer
Go to Tools / Folder Options / View
The top section should be Files and Folders
Uncheck Automatically search for network folders and printers
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top