Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Um, I'm a newbie to linux in general, I only installed it to see what all this fuss is about. But, to the point, I can't install ANYTHING, despite the fact that I follow the exact instructions and type the EXACT right thing into terminal that a website or readme tells me to. I'm using Fedora Core 3 and when I open terminal, type the exact command I'm told to by the readme, it comes up with stuff like "File not found" Basically, I'm asking whether I have to run terminal and somehow navigate to the right folder and then to what the readme says, or if I just type the commands. Here's what one install file says to do.

Code:
. Download the game: Old Tibia client for Linux version 7.4 (approx 1.4 MB)
2. Extract the file using one of the following commands. A "tibia"-subdirectory will be created automatically.
	tar xvfz tibiaNNN-linux.tgz
	gnutar xvfz tibiaNNN-linux.tgz
	zcat tibiaNNN-linux.tgz | tar xf -
3. Start the game in the directory "tibia" with the command tibia.

Note: The package Tcl/Tk, version 8.3, is necessary for playing Tibia.
but I don't know what to do, I opened Terminal and entered those commands but nothing happened, then I doubleclicked the file that I downloaded and extracted it using a winzip-like tool that came with Fedora, opened the file I extracted it to and tried to run the file that said tibia, and nothing happened. I'm absolutely clueless as to how the hell I'm meant to be doing this.

·
Registered
111 Posts
open a terminal type...
cd /path to wherever you extracted the file to with file roller (the winzip-like tool)/tibia
then type...
tibia
and the file should run....

·
Registered
6,052 Posts