Tech Support Guy banner

ICL DRS300 dos system problem

3277 Views 35 Replies 3 Participants Last post by  JohnWill
Hi Guys, I am a bit if a beginner here and have a problem with my old DRS300 ICL dos based system. I am in the middle of replacing this with a pc system but unfortunately in the midst of changing the DRS300 has packed up.

When I say packed up I mean one of the drives.

I have already sent the hard drive (a miniscribe 8425 mfm) for data recovery but to no avail. They have said that it was corrupted and had bad media. This drive held the boot up and operating system. The other drive which hold the data in the DRS300 is ok but i cannot access the info to do anything with it. I can access the files using a floppy disc that has a type command in it but can only view the info.

Is there any way of interfacing a pc with this type of miniscribe drive to access the files and tranfer the data to a word or excel so I can at least print the data and have hard copies. All the files held on the drive are text files.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 36 Posts
You'll need to round up an old system that has an ISA bus slot, since I've never seen an MFM/RLL controller for PCI. In addition, you need to know the configuration in the BIOS for the cylinders/heads/sectors per track, since they vary for individual drives.

Since you have floppy access, let's consider plan B.

You can use a serial port transfer application on the floppy to access the files required, and transfer them using serial communications. One that I have used in the past is ZIP221, a lightweight DOS based serial port transfer package.

Depending on the amount of data, you could also copy them a few at a time to a floppy and move them over that way.
If you boot with an MS-DOS floppy with minimal support, you should have about 1mb of free space on a 1.44mb floppy.