Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
For you Unix weenies (like me) how do you 'kill -9' a process on Windows XP Home edition?

For everyone else (and especially Mr. Gates): How do you kill a process through Task Manager that is owned by SYSTEM?

It is a BitDefender (virus scan) process (vsserv.exe) and I occasionally want to kill it just to get some work done on my machine!

Task Manager says permisson denied when I try to kill it but I am an administrator on the machine.

I tried creating a user account called SYSTEM and one called Administrator (to try and kill it by tricking Bill...oops sorry Mr. G) but in both cases Windows wouldn't create the account because it said an account already exists with that name. Well there are three user accounts created and they ain't Administrator or SYSTEM!

If someone can help me I might eventually stop comparing Windows to Unix! ;-)

Thanks, Matt

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow, that was fast!

Thanks.

I see several BitDefender processes (4) and 2 are automatic and started. One of those is the virus scan and I suspect it's the one.

When I select it and go to Action->properties it says VSSERV as the Service name. I can change the startup type - but is there a way for me to kill it? Or, how do I disable it?

Thanks again.

Matt

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
PedroGuy,

Something's still wrong. The Start, Stop, Pause and Resume buttons are grayed out so I can't stop the process.

When I try to change the 'Startup type' from Automatic to Manual and hit 'Apply' it gives me an 'Access Denied' dialog box.

Any more ideas?

Thanks again,
Matt

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·