Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK.. this has happened for the fourth time in a week now... i boot up my computer ( win98 + Red hat 9) and the bootloader just appears half.... like Li-
and it hangs there.
So i put in my windows98 bootable floppy and fdisk /mbr. Now the last three times it happened, i just booted into win98 and using PartitionMagic 8 formatted the Linux partition.
I'm tired of formatting the linux partition and having to set up linux all over again... :( Is there any way i could restore the bootloader or perhaps boot into linux and install the bootloader or something??? I haven't created a linux bootable floppy.
Please keep in mind that i'm a real noob at linux... so try keeping the answer really simple.
With Regards,
Umesh

·
Registered
103 Posts
What version/distribution of linux are you using? Also do you know if you were using Grub or Lilo as your boot loader?

The process is to generally boot in with a boot/repair disk and rererun the bootloader installation.

For grub enter something like:
/sbin/grub-install /dev/hda

For lilo enter:

/sbin/lilo

And it should set up lilo as it was set up originally from the settings in /etc/lilo.conf

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
guys.... i am able to now boot into linux. This is what i did last night..
I popped in the cd 1 of red hat 9 and booted off the cd.... then i went ahead with an upgrade of the red hat installation but didnt select any packages to be upgraded.At the end of the upgrade? process, i was asked if i wanted to create a boot diskette... i put a floppy in... and a bootable floppy was created.
Now i am able to boot into linux if i have the floppy in the drive. But how do i install a bootloader as well?

·
Registered
211 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
hey.. when i type lilo as a root user... i get a command not found error.
By the way, i did as Grinler said above,