Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Firstly my apologies for starting on this forum with a plea for help but I am getting desperate now:mad:

I have had to buy a new pc as the old one blew new years eve and am having problems connecting to the router.

I have no problem connecting to the internet if I am directly linked to my broadband modem but as soon as I connect to the router it does not see my connection.

I have two other pc's in the house which are connecting wirelessly to the Linksys router without a problem but with the "main" pc which is in my room connected via the cable supplied then it cannot be detected.

I have tried running the disc that came with the router and it sees my connection to the internet ok but when it tells me to hook up the router to it then it does not work.

This is a new pc I bought yesterday and until now I have never had problems with networks.

I need someones help here please

John
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
Hi, and welcome to the TSG forum :) :up:

dont worry about posting - thats the point of the forum

first post an ipconfig /all of one of the working PC's - see below on how to do

then post in a seperate reply the ipconfig /all for the new PC

that will tell us some of the settings

if you goto network connection
right click on lan
properties
look at the settings for TCP/IP
make sure its installed the IPCONFIG will tell us the settings you need if any

ipconfig /all

TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

ONE ---------------------------------
start
run
cmd
ipconfig /all

rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

TWO -----------------------------------------------

Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok here is the result from my laptop which is connected wirelessly to the router so now I will have to connect the new pc via cable and then it will dissconnect from internet so hopefully i can still copy and paste in another post when i connect it again

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : john-65e64ef334
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Compaq WLAN MultiPort W200
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-CD-8D-88-97
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.0.39
195.188.53.175
62.31.112.39
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 January 2007 13:44:45
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 January 2007 13:44:45

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>

Now here is the result I get with the new pc plugged into the router via the cable.

I know I can connect to the router with the new pc wirelessly but I will lose a lot of my speed

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : john-4d7341e983
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-8F-CB-FA-A5
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.10
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
Try this from a command prompt:

PING 192.168.1.1

Tell us the results.

PING 66.94.234.13

Tell us the results.

PING yahoo.com

Tell us the results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the reply John and here is my amateurish result

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.1.1

Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 66.94.234.13

Pinging 66.94.234.13 with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 66.94.234.13:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
you dont have dhcp enabled on your new PC

goto
Lan properties

start>
control panel>
netwrok connections>

right click on the lan connection>
properties>

then click on tcp/ip to highlight

then click on properties button

now set to

automatically obtain an IP
and
Automatically obtain DNS

then

reboot or

Start>
run>
cmd>

ipconfig /release

ipconfig /renew

now it should work


also post an IPCONFIG /ALL

again for new PC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
ok I did what john said and reset winsock and reset other thing but never got a reply from that.

Also did etafs response and still not working grrrrrr

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : john-4d7341e983
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-8F-CB-FA-A5
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
The wireless modem is missing from your IPCONFIG. Is it enabled?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
this may be a cable problem

do you have lights on the socket where you plug the lan cable into - one should be on and one flashing

also on the router (can we have make and model ) do you see a light on the front when you plug the lan cable in
it is the cable supplied wit the router for lan connection - NOT for phone connection

is your
broadband modem
when conected to PC and working using the USB or LAN connection
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Definitely not a cable problem as I have just bought a new cable in case it was that.

Linksys and lights are on and flashing so router working.

Also port light is on
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
did you use the LAN when connecting to the MODEM or USB???

under properties of LAN - whats in the connection uses following items

under tcp/ip
anything in alternative config ??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Sorry been back to the shop to see the person who built it and he was balming software i had installed but after telling him i have same in all pc's he went quiet.

Then he got it working on his router telling me that it didnt have a gateway and he gave it one but now i aint got one that i have brought it home.

I will put a copy underneath here.

Etaf there is nohing in alternative config

So here is what I have now and seems all i need to do if i am right is to put in a gateway but how?

Thanks for all your help btw

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : john-4d7341e983
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-8F-CB-FA-A5
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.50.33
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
65,526 Posts
169.254.50.33
this means it can not see the router

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : john-65e64ef334
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Compaq WLAN MultiPort W200
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-CD-8D-88-97
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.0.39
195.188.53.175
62.31.112.39
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 03 January 2007 13:44:45
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 04 January 2007 13:44:45
looking at a working IP
lets try a fixed IP address and see what happens

so right click on the lan
properties
highlight by clicking on the tcp/ip
click on properties button

now set

use the following IP address, subnet mask and default gateway to

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.150
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

use the following DNS

primary DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.0.39
secondary DNS servers ...................:195.188.53.175

post an ipconfig /all here again

try and ping the gateway 192.168.1.1

post result

try and ping google.com

post result

post the IP address for google you get back

post result

JOHNWILL - post in whenever you like
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top