Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read a few posts about this issue, didn't help. I determined this is the info I should provide. Wont connect to any wireless networks.

Compaq Presario c500

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Joshua>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Joshua-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Dynex

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Dynex
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-28-81-49
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c20:65ae:408a:2ad3%9(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 07, 2009 8:32:33 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, September 13, 2145 3:19:18 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001715
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
68.87.71.226
68.87.73.242
10.1.10.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet
NIC
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-D4-C1-CB-88
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Dynex
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.3%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
68.87.71.226
68.87.73.242
10.1.10.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

C:\Users\Joshua>
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
Let's expand this a bit and get some pings in there.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work.

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
Look again, all the PINGS at the bottom are what I'm looking for. The IPCONFIG results are just to be able to pull the addresses required for the PINGS.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I could not locate the computers ip so i just did the rest. Could you point out the computers address for me so i can get it for you?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Joshua>ping 192.168.2.1

Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Joshua>ping 192.168.2.1

Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.2.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Joshua>ping 68.87.71.226

Pinging 68.87.71.226 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 68.87.71.226: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=57
Reply from 68.87.71.226: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=57
Reply from 68.87.71.226: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=57
Reply from 68.87.71.226: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=57

Ping statistics for 68.87.71.226:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 13ms

C:\Users\Joshua>ping 68.87.73.242

Pinging 68.87.73.242 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 68.87.73.242: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=53
Reply from 68.87.73.242: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=53
Reply from 68.87.73.242: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=53
Reply from 68.87.73.242: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 68.87.73.242:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 30ms, Maximum = 33ms, Average = 31ms

C:\Users\Joshua>ping 10.1.10.1

Pinging 10.1.10.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 10.1.10.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.1.10.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.1.10.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 10.1.10.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 10.1.10.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Users\Joshua>ping 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=50
Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=50

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 26ms, Maximum = 28ms, Average = 27ms

C:\Users\Joshua>ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

C:\Users\Joshua>
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
Not to worry, the computer's IP address isn't needed anyway, since you are successfully pinging the Internet sites by IP address. :)

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or Window 7.

Start, All Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

·
Retired Moderator
Joined
·
106,726 Posts
Have you disabled ALL firewalls to see if that helps?

Let's see a screen shot of what you're looking at, because you have Internet connectivity here.

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top