Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie in Linux. This is my first Linux install. I installed Fedora Core 6. Everything went smooth during installation. When I reboot Fedora starts to load than my monitor comes up with a message saying it doesn't meet the HF and VF parameters. It is my monitor giving me this message NOT Fedora. It gives me the HF and VF (horizontal and vertical frequency) parameters and what my my monitor's HF and VF actually are. The HF is at 89khz above the 28khz-70khz parameter.

The reason I posted in here is because I also have Windows XP loaded on the my PC and it works fine. Monitor is very old but new monitors are very expensive. Anything I can do with Fedora that might help? Thanks

·
Registered
3,924 Posts
If you press ctrl+alt+backspace and see a terminal screen then you can reconfigure the X-windows by typing
Code:
xorgconfig
You need to pick the correct video driver too and the resolution matching the hardware capability.

Linux uses generic drivers so there should be one that run your PC and you can try them out.

After you have save the configuration file you can try to go back to the desktop by typing
Code:
startx
The process can be repeated as long as the PC doesn't hang.

If you are confident enough you can edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf directly without running the xorgconfig program.

It is common for a distro able to communicate perfectly with a user in a GUI that doesn't got used after the installation. Strange but that is just one aspect of Linux and Fedora seems to do it more often.

Other distros can be better. Have a go at Puppy, Slax or Knoppix.

Never blame your equipment because of one Linux.

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ctrl+alt+backspace will not work, either will ctrl+alt+F1-F6.