Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am preparing to upgrade my old 120GB hard drive to a new 500 GB.
I have done a lot of research on this, and I think I am good to go..... but.....
just wanted to check here and ask around to see if any of the veterans have any advice for me, as I've never done this before.

I want to clone using one of the freebie cloners such as Clonezilla or XXClone (unless someone has a better recommendation?).
I want the entire OS cloned, so there will be nothing to install.

And yes, I am a back up nerd and I've taken all steps to backup my important files.

Any thoughts/opinions/recommendations are appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
467 Posts
I've used MaxBlast 5, its also free. Worked like a charm and sizes the new drive accordingly. I've used programs in the past that required the new larger drive to have the free space resized with another program like Partition Magic.

I haven't used the programs you noted above.

·
Super Moderator
46,543 Posts
I use and recommend acronis for cloning drives. Acronis true image does a lot more than clone drives. You can make an image of your system and if there is ever a need to reinstall or a hard drive failure, you simply restore the image. You can be back up and running in a matter of a few min.

As an example my system drive has approx 35gig of data, os, etc. It takes all of 5min to restore the drive.
It is well worth the $29 that the home version costs.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the input guys.

I'm using SATA hard drives... going from a Seagate to a Maxtor.

I will be doing this project tomorrow. I'll let ya'll know how it goes.

Thanks,

·
Registered
1,650 Posts