Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
21 - 40 of 61 Posts

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts
On post 6 where you included your screenshot that states the date and time - what was the error in your date and time compared with the time shown.
I presume at this stage you will not know that detail, so when you reply please state
1. The date and time at your location
2. The date and time shown on your desktop taskbar
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29,110 Posts
I found 2 possible reasons: the Daylight time is wrong in XP (there was a fix for this) or because XP only synchronizes every 7 days, you might want to force it to sync more often.

I am leaning towards a Daylight Savings Time issue.
This is probably the last Time Zone update and doesn't affect you in WI but it won't hurt to install it.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...-systems-0acd4e36-9248-89b9-63aa-e54ab7ae6b08

The US goes back on Standard Time at 2am on November 7th. You could wait and see if the clock fixes itself.
 

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts
Plodr
That is what I was thinking on the difference and why I asked for confirmation of both times
I will leave the issue with you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #26 ·
I found 2 possible reasons: the Daylight time is wrong in XP (there was a fix for this) or because XP only synchronizes every 7 days, you might want to force it to sync more often.

I am leaning towards a Daylight Savings Time issue.
This is probably the last Time Zone update and doesn't affect you in WI but it won't hurt to install it.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...-systems-0acd4e36-9248-89b9-63aa-e54ab7ae6b08

The US goes back on Standard Time at 2am on November 7th. You could wait and see if the clock fixes itself.
Thanks. It's been going on over 2 weeks now. I will install that update. Hopefully something works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #27 ·
On post 6 where you included your screenshot that states the date and time - what was the error in your date and time compared with the time shown.
I presume at this stage you will not know that detail, so when you reply please state
1. The date and time at your location
2. The date and time shown on your desktop taskbar
1:50pm and 1:50pm. Oct 14 2021 It's been the same when I have checked it. Thanks!
 

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts
1. How are you connected and is it to a secure network
2. IF you are connected secure network and not using some open unsecure connection then follow as below IN the order shown.

  • Sometimes the third-party plugins to your browser you installed can create issues. Try disabling one by one and once you find out the plugin that is causing the issue, remove it.
  • Clear cache files and the browsing history on your Chrome browser. To do so, click the menu icon, go to History, and select "Clear browsing data."
  • Delete your Chrome browser and re-install it. Sometimes, it solves the issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #31 ·
1. How are you connected and is it to a secure network
2. IF you are connected secure network and not using some open unsecure connection then follow as below IN the order shown.

  • Sometimes the third-party plugins to your browser you installed can create issues. Try disabling one by one and once you find out the plugin that is causing the issue, remove it.
  • Clear cache files and the browsing history on your Chrome browser. To do so, click the menu icon, go to History, and select "Clear browsing data."
  • Delete your Chrome browser and re-install it. Sometimes, it solves the issue.
Hi- I have Frontier Communications for an ISP (for many years). I use a router provided by them. Yes, it is secure as far as I know. I am not sure how to check 3rd party plug ins, but can search how to do that. I did clear cache more than once already. I am concerned about deleting the browser and reinstalling cause I don't want to lose all my settings. And am using 49.0 so not sure if that version is available. Appreciate your continued help!
 

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts
STEP 1- Launch Chrome browser and hit the (three-horizontal dots) icon on the upper-right corner.

STEP 2- Click on the option: New Incognito Window!

STEP 3- Start browsing privately!

That will disable all extensions - add-ons
 

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts
After you have tried the above go to a cmd prompt and type
ipconfig /all
press enter
on the results
look please for
lease obtained and lease expired
as per my example
Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19043.1288]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\windows\system32>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 October 2021 11:34:59
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 October 2021 11:34:59
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . .
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . :
C:\windows\system32>


I have deleted various info from my results but you need to check that the lease times are obtained BEFORE the current time and EXPIRES after the current time
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #34 ·
STEP 1- Launch Chrome browser and hit the (three-horizontal dots) icon on the upper-right corner.

STEP 2- Click on the option: New Incognito Window!

STEP 3- Start browsing privately!

That will disable all extensions - add-ons
I did this. Still get the clock error in the incognito window. Drats!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #35 ·
After you have tried the above go to a cmd prompt and type
ipconfig /all
press enter
on the results
look please for
lease obtained and lease expired
as per my example
Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19043.1288]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\windows\system32>ipconfig /all
Windows IP Configuration
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . :
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . :
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . :
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 October 2021 11:34:59
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 October 2021 11:34:59
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . :
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . .
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . :
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . :
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . :
C:\windows\system32>


I have deleted various info from my results but you need to check that the lease times are obtained BEFORE the current time and EXPIRES after the current time
Hi - My command prompt window is cut off on the right so I cannot see everything. The window will not copy and paste. The two dates are the same Thur Oct 21 2021 . The times listed were 8:23:59am. and 12:23:59 (there was no am or pm after this rtime cause the screen was cut off)
 

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
29,110 Posts
A bit off topic: You are using an OS that hasn't been patched since April 8, 2014 with one exception. (A special patch was issued for XP on May 9, 2019 because it was a serious hole.)
You are using a browser that came out in March 2016 and is unpatched.
Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Chrome_version_history

So you are not secure when you take XP on the internet. (We have two XP computers in the house; neither goes on the internet.)

At the very least, get a browser that works on XP and is actively being patched.

Slimjet Web Browser, which is based on Chromium and continues to support XP and Vista.
https://www.slimjet.com/chrome/google-chrome-old-version.php

or MyPal (similar to Firefox)
https://www.mypal-browser.org/
 

·
Trusted Advisor
Joined
·
25,955 Posts
Indeed and re the browser as you mentioned in post 5.
However as unsatisfactory as the use of XP is from many aspects I do not think - any of them are the cause of this problem
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #39 ·
Hi - My command prompt window is cut off on the right so I cannot see everything. The window will not copy and paste. The two dates are the same Thur Oct 21 2021 . The times listed were 8:23:59am. and 12:23:59 (there was no am or pm after this rtime cause the screen was cut off)
AH- got it. I ran it again. The least was obtained 10:23:59am and expire on 2:23:59pm Thursday Oct 21. The time on my clock when I did this was 12:12pm.
 
21 - 40 of 61 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top