Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every time I try to access my CD-ROM drive I get an error message, “Drive is not accessible. A device attached to the system is not functioning properly.”
After checking some previous threads I followed some of the suggestions mentioned. I removed the CD-ROM from device manager and rebooted even though under properties it said it was functioning properly. The driver was reinstalled but it still did not work. I tried to install an updated driver for the CD-ROM but I got a message saying, “MSCDEX.EXE does not exist in C:\ DOS. Contact your operation system supplier.” Also while I was in device manager there was an “!” next to the CD-ROM controller line but when I removed that, it never showed up again when I rebooted. So there is no CD-ROM controller installed. I’m guessing I shouldn’t have removed that.

I checked the cables internally. All were attached securely. I tried a new cable still with no luck.

I checked the BIOS. This is what it said:
Primary IDE Master ST32122A
Primary IDE Slave Not Installed
Secondary IDE Master CD-ROM CDU311
Secondary IDE Slave Not Installed
I have no idea if that means anything significant to the problem.

Also I am running Windows 95b. Anything anyone can suggest?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Every time I try to access my CD-ROM drive I get an error message, “Drive is not accessible. A device attached to the system is not functioning properly.”