Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I accidentally unplugged my laptop while it was on. Now I can't get on internet. Internet connection says connected to DLink Speed 48 mbps Excellent Connected. It was working fine, now nothing. Called Comcast and they want to charge me cause I have a DLink router and not theirs. Any ideas here? Please?
 

·
Deceased Moderator Gone but never forgotten
Joined
·
82,272 Posts
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

ping 192.168.0.1

ping 8.8.4.4

ping yahoo.com

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dell-1u5l2weydn
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-B8-00-7E

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Personal Area Network
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-41-93-05-1A

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1490 Dual Band WLAN Mi
ni-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-CF-84-17-0D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.7
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 156.154.70.22
156.154.71.22
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 8:43:11
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 9:43:11
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ping 8.8.4.4

Pinging 8.8.4.4 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 8.8.4.4:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>pingpi
'pingpi' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [69.147.125.65] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 69.147.125.65:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>
 

·
Deceased Moderator Gone but never forgotten
Joined
·
82,272 Posts
You have an apparently good IP configuration for a connection to a router. I guessed wrong--D-Link routers usually default to 192.168.0.1, but yours is 192.168.15.1. That is your router, right? You didn't accidentally connect to a neighbor's?

Are you able to access the internet through that router with another computer?

Can you access the internet if you connect dell-1u5l2weydn to the router by ethernet?

What, if any, non-Windows firewall or security suite do you have on the machine?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yes, two other computers are connected with my dLink. This one was till I accidentally unplugged it today. I tried using ethernet and couldn't either. I have Invisus. Sent that info in former message. Appreciate your help. Wondering if Comcast has a problem with me having 3 computers online and they are now blocking one?
 

·
Deceased Moderator Gone but never forgotten
Joined
·
82,272 Posts
Uninstall Invisus and try again. If unsuccessful please show an ipconfig /all with the ethernet connected and the pings (but use 192.168.15.1 instead of 192.168.0.1)
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top