Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im using a linksys befw11s4 wireless router, and i can't access 192.168.1.1 which i think is what i need to do to be able to get it to work with an xbox.

this is what i get w/ ipconfig im pretty sure there's omething wrong here, but i don't know what or how to fix it. any help is greatly appreciated.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Diane Baruch>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : david
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0B-DB-B9-0C-0F
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.188.240.77
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 24.188.240.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 167.206.3.206
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 167.206.3.206
167.206.3.205
167.206.3.140
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2005 10:26:50 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 13, 2005 10:26:50
PM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,736 Posts
To start, before considering the xbox...
Your cable/dsl modem should be plugged into the wan port of your wireless router. Then your PC should be plugged into the router (your PC is not wireless, correct?).
Do you have your PC plugged into the router? Looks like you're getting an IP from your ISP and not from the router.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,468 Posts
If you are connected correctly, then it should be coming from the router, not the modem.

Again, the modem should be connected to the WAN port on the router.
The computer should be connected to the Ethernet port on the router.

The computer should be set to get it's IP address automatically (which should be coming from the router, not the modem).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
418 Posts
Just unplug the cable modem, reset the router, and don't plug in the cable modem until you can access the router set-up page. If that does not work........Did you buy the router new? If so, just call linksys.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top