Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the PC building scene. Not much cash. Plan to build system with the following specs:
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 4200+
RAM: 1G DDR2-800
MoBo: ASUS M2N-MX SE
HDD: 160G Maxtor SATA
Integrated graphics (to start with)
ASUS PCI WL-138G WiFi card
Case: Shaw Xtreme-550

This all comes to a total cost of AU$283, mainly because I already have a monitor, external DVD Burner, keyboard and mouse. I will eventually add a 19" LCD, nVidia 8500GT, an extra 1G of RAM and a DVD burner, bringing the total to $652.

My question is about the PSU. It is a 550W generic. I have run this system through various online PSU calculators, and it apparently only draws only 200-250W from the PSU, even with the extra components. I have heard various horror stories about generic PSUs, so will a 550W-rated generic run this system? (I will probably eventually upgrade it to a 860W generic, which it seems is equivalent to a good 450W).

·
Registered
22,466 Posts
I wouldn't do it. The psu can be one of the most volatile components i9n the system and can easily hard the system with underpower as generic unknowns are hard to rate and never hold steady power. When they blow they also tend to take other components with them. personally I use Enermax, Antec, or Thermaltake and there is a 430 watt Thermaltake most sell for under $40 that is an excellent psu.

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I really can't afford a separate PSU... Will it be enough to get the system up and run it for a few weeks?

·
Registered
833 Posts
Just for the heck of it I ran a 4GB DVD exact copy from a serial DVD writer to an IDE ditto, installed in an XP Home rig similar to the one you described, except with a low-end PCIE graphics card, 2GB of dual channel DDR2 and no wi-fi-card.
(I usually use a 98SE rig but I found a missing DVD inside one of the drives - so it was worth the effort. :D)