Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yello. So I installed Ubuntu today on a separate drive. The primary slave specifically. When I selected that drive to boot from in the BIOS it failed to boot with no error or anything. I went back and selected the original WinXP drive and it booted Ubuntu.
After looking around at the partitions and what not I've discovered that the XP drive now has an partition of unknown filesystem, though some places including fdisk and Spinrite just label it as "Linux". I can't mount it within Ubuntu and the Ubuntu installer says it's of unknown filesystem. I know I selected the other drive for the boot and the swap. It was the slave, hd1.
I really have no idea what to do now. I'm totally new to Linux and now I'm stuck on a foreign operating system. I don't understand how this can happen and I'd really rather not have to reinstall XP again and lose everything on that drive. I'd only just got back into the swing of things since last time my drive died.
I'm assuming it's my fault and I've just done something stupid but any help with a possibility of recovering it would be appreciated. Thanks.

· Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
One other thing. If it can be fixed or I end up reinstalling XP, how will I then boot Ubuntu since it only boots from the broken XP drive? I'm guessing maybe it's something like it automatically puts boot info on the primary master so I'd just have to reinstall everything properly with that in mind in that case no?

· Registered
806 Posts