Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Noob here and to start off I'll say that I've search these forums and I have run into a few posts about this topic (search function kept giving error) but nothing that answers my question exactly.

I'm currently running some batch scripts in windows command prompt that delete files that are older the X date using FOREFILES (EX):

forfiles /P "PATH TO FILES" /M *.txt /D -7 /C "CMD /C if @ISDIR==FALSE echo del @FILE &del @FILE"

This works great for files but I need something simple like this for directories. I don't need exact math so if it's a day or so out of whack no big deal. I just can't seem to get anything like this to work for folders.

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
9,026 Posts
Code:
ForFiles /P "PATH TO FILES"  /D -7 /C "CMD /C if @ISDIR==TRUE echo RD /Q /S @FILE &RD /Q /S @FILE"
Note that this will delete the contents of all folders and all subfolders in the Specified Path. Remove the /Q to be prompted for each folder.
If the folders are empty, the /S and /Q is not needed. Leave those switches off to avoid deleting folders that are not empty.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
works perfectly. Forgot one thing in my orignal post. Is there anyway that I can use forefiles to do a conditional check? What I mean is IF there are files that are more then (ex) 7 days old do one thing (proceed to delete them) if there are no files 7 days or older then do something else (like GOTO :NOFILES)?

Thank you very much for your time!

·
Registered
9,026 Posts
You might be able to just check the ERRORLEVEL after running the Forfiles command. If no files meet the criteria, it sets ERRORLEVEL to 1 and displays this message: