Tech Support Guy banner
  • Please post in our Community Feedback thread for help with the new forum software! If you are having trouble logging in, please Contact Us for assistance.
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi this is just a question just out of interest as I am just learning about computers.......... I bought a new PC with an AMD64 3000+ and got home to discover it is 2ghz, (I went out to buy a 3ghz machine so it shows you how much I know) so I was considering taking it back and exchanging it for a P4 3ghz but a few of my mates told me the AMD is just as good. So here are a few questions.............
Is it just as good and if so why and if not why not?
Is it as fast?
Will it be good for a year or 2 yet?
I noticed in TRIPLE6s' signature it said "AMD XP 2500+ @ 2333Mhz / 424 Mhz FSB" does this mean that they can be over clocked. if so how do you do it and is it worth it.
I ask these questions just to educate myself on these things as I am keen to learn about PC's............ any info would be great.
Many Thanks in Advance.................

·
Premium Member
52,926 Posts
The AMD 64 3000+ has a true clock speed of 2.0Ghz - that is correct. AMD has been using a comparitive model system based on Pentium 4's for a few years now. So what they claim is that its just as fast as a Pentium 4 running at 3.0 Ghz. Now in some cases the Pentium 4 3.0Ghz outperforms the 64 3000+ and sometimes its the other way around. Also note you also have a 64 bit CPU while the Pentium 4 is only 32 bit(for the most part).

Any CPU can be overclocked but you would the void the warranty. Overclocking can also lead to heat issues and instability. You have a fast system and I wouldn't be concerned about overclocking.

·
Registered
31 Posts
triple6 a most enlightening reply, if you don't mind me hijacking the thread for a moment.