Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a membership database created by someone who is no longer available to consult. It contains fields to check for organizations joined. The information was for 2008. I am getting ready for a new year and would like to keep the 2008 information but create a new form that clears those fields to insert 2009 information. Do I need to copy the 2008 database and save as 2009. I know this will sound crazy, but how do I do that? When I open the document and click save as it says save switchboard to _____________; save as _____________
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,209 Posts
The relationship between the members and the organizations should be setup as a one to many relationship. I am guessing that they set it up as a 1 to 1 relationship and you cannot add more records for those members. Could you empty out the data, zip and attach the file as an attachment in a post? Also you do not copy the file within Access you do it when browsing folders in windows explorer. I would not recommend having separate files for each year.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,842 Posts
I would just click on the table with the 2008 data, paste it back into the same Access database. (Note, don't Save As.)
You will be asked to name the table (I would first rename the old table to something like "name" 2008 and then name the new one what it used to be called, that way any links, queries, etc. will go to the new table). Also, you will be asked if you want to append to existing data (no), paste Structure and Data (again, no) or paste Structure Only - click in this option.
Then you will have a new table with exactly the same structure as the 2008 one, and, since you used the name that the 2008 table used to have, all the queries, reports, forms, etc. will work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,209 Posts
He does not really want you to rename them. He wants you to copy them and then rename the original tables for 09. Are you going to ever need to track historical values along with current values?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,842 Posts
Actually, I would rename them and retain the old tables for as long as needed - but keep the data in different tables. If I wanted to compare person x across years, I would just use a query to link the tables and filter for that person and see the data for all the years combined - or make a new table and append all the data to it.
But for using with a form, I would not keep the old data in with the new - gets too confusing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,209 Posts
Hold down your CTRL key and move the table down. You will have a copy of the table. Select the original hit "F2" which allows you to rename an object and name it 2009. Rename the copy you made to 2008 since it will say "Copy of 2008."

As an addendum after seeing slurpee's post. How I differentiate between old and current data is having a year field within the organizations table. I then have the form sort the record via the year in descending order to see the current records whenever they open the form. ;) It is harder to count fields across tables when you have different years in different tables.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,842 Posts
I always have a year field, so I didn't really think about it, but that isn't what I would do - but if I made a query of two tables, I could certainly track changes by including the year field in the query.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
OK. I did the control and copy thing and renamed, but I removed the check boxes from the current or 09 table (not all boxes, thank heavens, just a few), but when I looked at the 08 copy those boxes had been cleared in the copy as well. What did I do wrong?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,932 Posts
Can I ask why you want a new table for 2009, rather than just adding the records to the original table?
You can restrict what you see on your form by having a Query restrict the date to 2009, but your data would still be available in the same table.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
I wanted historical data about memberships. As you can see, I know nothing about access design--I just know how to put info in the forms that were created for me to use. The address book that pulls from the tables lists:
name Member assoc. and X club
address
home phone
cell phone
work phone
email address
same info for spouse
children's names, ages, schools
year moved into neighborhood
We would like to run a report that will show us past memberships in assoc and clubs
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,209 Posts
Can you post the empty shell for us to look at like I requested before? Like I was saying before and OBP backed up I prefer doing one table with all of the membership information in it. That is not one table for all of the database information it is only for one table for membership information and it will be one table for client information.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,932 Posts
Jim, the Op has sent me a copy of the database and it is a Split "Replica", not the original so the design can't be changed. Also it had no Relationships set at all.
I have Imported everything in to a New Blank Database, but the original had a couple of errors so it is possible that the new version may have a few bugs to iron out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19,932 Posts
I am very busy at the moment, so if you want to take a look and the OP doesn't mind I can send you a copy of either the Replica or the New version.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,209 Posts
I am busy as well, but you can pass it on and I will try to take a look at it. working on two databases atm here as well at work. ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
I don't mind your sharing--just don't want it to be info open to public. Tell me how to "strip" data and I'll try to do that. I'm fairly good at following step by step instructions.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top