Tech Support Guy banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
59,676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just finished a book by Philip Pullman called the 'Golden Compass' and my
favorite hero is a bear. His name is Iorek Byrnison and he's a fantastic
character. But, it got me to thinking. About our own heroes.

My dad was a big hero for me.

·
Registered
1,930 Posts
ekim: I think that the media has degraded the word 'Hero' to a point that it is absolutely meaningless today.
This is not to say that heroic acts are not performed everyday by ordinary people, just that a big deal is made of the fact that somebody did his duty admirably,
(which is expected of everyone). These people are my heros because I respect people who perform everyday, the tasks assigned to them.
Real heros go above and beyond the call of duty.
I am a WW2 veteran who goes to VA medical clinics for health care and sometimes sit in waiting rooms there and wonder if I am sitting in the company of genuine heros.
I don't mean to rain on your parade, but I have felt this way for some time now and just wanted to share it with TSG.

·
Registered
59,676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hal,
Thank you for your response. I was trying to convey a more localized version of hero.
Relating to those around us who shape our imaginations. However, I do see where
you're coming from....I was in the military, too...And, you're right, those people were
true heroes...And, by the way, thanks for your service...

·
Registered
6,336 Posts
I agree with both of you.

Yes, the term hero has less of a significant meaning when you think of all the people that really deserve it (veterans etc.), but in the broader sense, people have become so self absorbed that they tend to forget who have been there for them when they really needed it on a personal level.

Big 'ups' to those that recognize those that mean enough to call them their 'hero'. :up:

·
A True Heart and Soul - Gone But Never Forgotten
17,197 Posts