Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, I'm a newbie, but have spent some time searching thru prievous posts and upon other forums without finding an answer, so I apologise in advance if this is simpleton stuff.

I've moved into a mates house, who has moved to australia but left me his PC.

His setup is as follows: a 1ghz athlon running winxp home edition and is connected via a vigor2200usb router to a usb external alcatel speedtouch 330 modem, housed in a separate room to his PC. He used to run his PC and multiple xbox's from the router with no problems via his ISP PIPEX adsl account which.. I'm supposed to take over.

I've brought into the mix my own PC : P4 1.5 ghz running WINME which used to connect fine and run smoothly via a dialup 56k modem and ISP freeserve. I notified them I was moving but upon getting here was unable to access the internet from that PC, even if I removed the broadband connections (microfilters) from the house. (v90 modem now removed along with dial up settings)

I began to get "poproxy.exe has caused an error in KERNEL32.DLL" messages on bootup which i've traced to my about to expire copy of Norton AV, which is now removed.

In addtition I started to get weird error messages on startup to do with "program X causing an error in KERNEL32.DLL" which I gather can be for "reason X". (I'm looking into one being a possible virus) I've elimnated those errors now,via msconfig running only a bare minimum of starting tasks.

My Problem: ( apart from a lack of being concise)